Biosecurity champions honoured

Minister for Biosecurity Damien O’Connor has paid tribute to the winners of the 2018 New Zealand Biosecurity Awards.

“These are the people and organisations who go above and beyond to protect Aotearoa from pests and diseases to ensure our unique way of life is sustained for future generations,” Damien O’Connor said.

“In particular it was a pleasure to have awarded the Minister’s Biosecurity Award to Greg Corbett, Biosecurity Manager at the Bay of Plenty Regional Council.

“Greg has shown leadership from the grassroots up for over 35 years, protecting New Zealand’s farms, forests and waterways from animal pests since 1983.

“The New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award winner was Environment Southland for its Fiordland Marine Pathway Management Plan.

“These awards acknowledge that our primary sector, tourism, biodiversity and economy are underpinned by a strong biosecurity system and that it takes all 4.7 million of us to protect it now and into the future,” Damien O’Connor said.

The winners are below:

  • New Zealand Biosecurity Community Award - Pirongia Te Aroaro o Kahu Restoration Society
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Industry Award - Kiwifruit Vine Health
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Science Award - Scion: New Zealand Forest Research Institute
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Emerging Leader Award - Dr Amanda Black
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Māori Award - Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Te Rangi Iwi Trust
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Local and Central Government Award - Environment Southland
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Innovation Award - Jacson3 Limited
  • New Zealand Biosecurity Supreme Award - Environment Southland
  • Minister’s Biosecurity Award - Greg Corbett

Further detail is at