Appointments to Radio New Zealand Board

  • Amy Adams

Broadcasting Minister Amy Adams today announced two reappointments to the Board of Radio New Zealand (RNZ). 

Nelson-based former journalist Richard Griffin has been reappointed as Chair of Radio New Zealand and Jane Taylor, a barrister and professional director from Queenstown, has been reappointed and takes on the role of Deputy Chair.

“Mr Griffin has extensive experience in news agencies, radio and television, and has contributed significant broadcasting experience to the RNZ Board since appointed as a Governor in 2010. He has overseen a significant change programme at RNZ and has provided clear leadership to the organisation and Board,” says Ms Adams.

“Ms Taylor provides strong experience in governance across a number of sectors and has made a valuable contribution to the Board.”

Ms Taylor is currently Chair of Landcare Research New Zealand and a director of Silver Fern Farms, Hirepool Group, and OTPP New Zealand Forest Investments.

Mr Griffin took up his appointment on 1 May 2016 for a two year term, while Ms Taylor commenced in her role as Deputy Chair on 1 June 2016 and will serve almost three more years - until 30 April 2019.

Richard Griffin of Nelson is a highly experienced former journalist. He served as Chief Press Secretary and Senior Media Advisor to Rt Hon Jim Bolger and was RNZ’s longest serving political editor. He has been instrumental in the strategic planning of organisations in New Zealand’s primary production and tourism sectors and the pharmaceutical and banking industries. 

Jane Taylor is a Queenstown-based barrister and director whose expertise spans finance, law and forestry science. She currently works as professional director, barrister and independent hearings commissioner under the RMA. Ms Taylor is Chair of Landcare Research NZ Ltd, a director of Silver Fern Farms Ltd, Hirepool Group Ltd and OTPP NZ Forest Investments Ltd, and a member of the External Reporting Board. She has previously held directorships with Forestry Corporation of NZ, GNS Science, Scion, REANNZ, Heartland New Zealand and the Legal Services Agency.