Appointments to The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Board Announced

  • Marie Hasler
Cultural Affairs

Hon Marie Hasler, the Minister of Cultural Affairs, announced today that the Governor-General has made four appointments to the Board of Te Papa.

Two sitting members, Dame Anne Salmond and Jennifer Gibbs have been re-appointed for further terms of one year. "Dame Anne and Mrs Gibbs have both been effective members who have made strong contributions to the Board of Te Papa over the past six years. I believe that it is important to retain such experienced members to ensure stability and continuity as Te Papa moves into a new phase of its operations following the successful opening of the new museum building in February' Ms Hasler said.

Two new members have also been appointed tot he Board. Professor Mason Durie of Palmerston North, and Rikirangi Gage of Opotiki, have both been appointed for three year terms of office. Professor Durie is Professor of Maori Studies at Massey University and has a particular interest in implementing bicultural institutional structures. Mr Gage is the Executive Director of Te Rununga o Te Whanau a Apanui and Company Director of TWA Holdings and TWA Fishing Ltd.

'Professor Durie and Mr Gage both have a deep understanding of tikanga Maori and will ensure that there is strong Maori representation on the Board of Te Papa' Ms Hasler said.

Ms Hasler paid tribute to departing Apirana Mahuika and to Sir Robert Mahuta who resigned at the beginning of the year. 'The contributions of Mr Mahuika and Sir Robert has been highly regarded, both by the Government and Te Papa. They have brought valuable expertise and an important Maori perspective to the Museum during the establishment phase while the building project and opening day exhibitions on the Wellington waterfront were completed' said the Minister.