Appointments to Lottery Oranga Marae Committee

  • Hon Tracey Martin
Internal Affairs

Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin and Māori Development Minister Nanaia Mahuta today announced three appointments and two reappointments to the Lottery Oranga Marae Committee.

Arihia Tuoro (Tainui, Whakatohea and Ngāitai) and Edward Ellison (Ngāi Tahu and Te Atiawa), have been reappointed. Edward Ellison is the Presiding Member.

Joining them are new members Niwa Nuri (Te Arawa and Te Whakatohea), Matt Te Pou (Ngāi Tuhoe), and Bonita Bigham (Ngā Ruahine and Te Atiawa). The terms of all members began today.

“The five people appointed to the Lottery Oranga Marae Committee bring their expertise and knowledge in iwi and hapū development. Collectively, they have experience in the marae restoration process, governance, business management and financial expertise,” Tracey Martin said.

“Marae are centres of Māori identity, language, traditional knowledge and whānau wellbeing. These Committee members come from a diverse range of backgrounds. I am confident that their skills and abilities, and their commitment to supporting Marae, holds the Lottery Oranga Marae Committee in expert hands,” Nanaia Mahuta said.

“The reappointed members have worked well on the Committee and I thank them for their continued commitment in returning for another term. I also thank outgoing members Wiremu Keepa, Nicole Anderson and Heather Tanguay JP for their valuable contributions to the Committee’s work,” Minister Martin said.

About Oranga Marae

Oranga Marae is a programme of support, advice and investment for marae. It gives whānau and hapū advice and support to help develop their marae and achieve their goals. This can include support building projects and activities to revitalise cultural knowledge.

A key goal of the programme is to strengthen the ability of marae to pass on their ancestral knowledge of whaikōrero, karanga and local mātauranga, tikanga and kawa to descendants.

Oranga Marae funding is provided by Te Puni Kōkiri and the Lottery Grants Board. The Department of Internal Affairs administers Lottery Grants Board funding.

Media Contact

For Minister Mahuta: Chris Harrington 021 941 865

For Minister Martin: Richard Ninness 021 892 536