Appointments to Lottery Distribution Committee

Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin today announced four appointments to the National Lottery Individuals with Disabilities Committee.

The Committee’s purpose is to allocate grants for mobility and communication equipment to help adults, young people and children with disabilities to achieve independence and gain access to the community.

The Minister appointed Mercia Dawn-Yates, Frian Wadia, Ezekiel Robson and Polly Yeung as members. They join current Presiding Member, Joy Paterson, on the Committee. The terms of all members began today, Friday 15 March 2019, and will end on 14 March 2022 except Ms Yeung’s term, which will end on 1 March 2021.

“I am delighted that a full committee is now in place. These members bring an extensive understanding of the mobility and communication issues facing people living with disabilities, along with direct experience of the challenges and achievements of family members who are living with disabilities,” Tracey Martin said.

“These members will create a cohesive Committee that combines in-depth disability sector experience and knowledge, as well as having diverse ethnic backgrounds, ages and geographic locations.”

The newly appointed members have knowledge and experience in the disability sector from a range of different areas, from Ms Dawn-Yates and Ms Wadia’s having teaching careers, to Mr Robson’s community outreach experience and Ms Yeung’s academic research and social work.