Appointments to EECA board

  • Simon Bridges
Energy and Resources

Energy and Resources Minister Simon Bridges today announced two new appointments and a reappointment to the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA) Board.

Catherine Taylor has been appointed as the new Deputy Chair of the Board and Karen Sherry has been appointed as a member. David Coull has been reappointed as a member.  The appointments are for three years, effective 1 February 2017.

“The appointments will ensure the board continues to have good governance experience, a variety of skills and energy sector knowledge,” Mr Bridges says.

“EECA has an important role promoting energy efficiency and renewable energy to enable New Zealand’s transition to a low carbon economy. The mix of new and existing board members will steer EECA in the right direction.”

Mr Bridges acknowledged outgoing board members, Marion Cowden (Deputy Chair) and Mervyn English, for their contribution to EECA’s operation over the past six years.

Tom Campbell (Chair), Janet Carson, Elena Trout and Hon Phil Heatley will remain on the Board.

Information about EECA’s work can be found at