• Jenny Shipley
State Owned Enterprises

The Minister for State Owned Enterprises, Hon Jenny Shipley, today announced the appointment of Mrs Rosanne Meo as Chairperson of Television New Zealand Ltd.

Mrs Meo will replace Mr Norman Geary who has previously announced his intention to retire as Chairperson on 28 February 1997.

"I am delighted to announce this appointment, which has the support of the coalition government caucuses."

"Mrs Meo is an experienced company director and a person of very high calibre. I believe she will make a substantial contribution to the board and ultimately to the future of Television New Zealand Ltd."

Mrs Meo was, until the asset was divested, the chair of Forestry Corporation of New Zealand Ltd. She is currently Chairman of AMP (NZ) and is a director of Mercury Energy and Ports of Auckland. She is also the President of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra. Previously, Mrs Meo has been President of the NZ Employers Federation.

The Minister also thanked the outgoing chairperson.

"Mr Geary has done an excellent job in overseeing an improved performance by the SOE."