Appointment to Arts Council of New Zealand

  • Hon Carmel Sepuloni
Arts, Culture and Heritage

Award winning writer Briar Grace-Smith, Kapiti, is appointed to the Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa (Creative NZ), Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage Hon Carmel Sepuloni announced today.

Briar Grace-Smith ONZM (Ngāti Hau hapu of Ngā Puhi) continues to make a huge contribution to the cultural sector telling Aotearoa’s stories since her first play Ngā Pou Wāhine won the 1995 Bruce Mason Playwriting Award,” Carmel Sepuloni said.

“In 2000 she received the Arts Foundation Laureate award and was the writer in residence at Victoria University in 2003.

“Coupled with this new appointment Dame Hon Luamanuvao Winnie Laban and Dean Whiting, both of Wellington, are reappointed for a further term.

“An inaugural member of the new Council, formed in 2014, Dame Winnie brings an extensive knowledge of Pasifika arts and culture to her role. Her reappointment to 30 September 2020 ensures greater continuity of knowledge and experience of Council business.

“Dean Whiting (Te Whānau a Apanui) is deeply involved in the Māori design and arts fields. His appointment is until 31 March 2022.

“Briar Grace-Smith’s appointment is until 31 March 2022. My thanks go to Suzanne Ellison, who completed her term in December 2018, for her contribution to the Council,” Carmel Sepuloni said.