Ahuwhenua Trophy finalists announced

  • Nathan Guy
Primary Industries

Primary Industries Minister Nathan Guy has congratulated the three finalists in this year’s Ahuwhenua Trophy competition, celebrating excellence in Māori farming.  

Mangaroa Station in Hawke’s Bay and Gisborne, Paua Station north of Kaitaia, and Maranga Station near Gisborne were announced as the finalists for the 2015 Ahuwhenua Trophy BNZ Māori Excellence in Farming award at an event tonight in Parliament.

"These beef and sheep farming stations are shining examples of the commitment Māori farmers have to sustainably developing their land for future generations. I’m proud to acknowledge and celebrate the key role Māori play in New Zealand’s primary industries,” says Mr Guy

The Ahuwhenua Trophy competition, which is now in its 82nd year, celebrates excellence in farming and the pursuit of innovation and new approaches by Māori farmers committed to tapping the full potential of their holdings. The competition alternates each year between sheep and beef farming and dairy.

“The Ahuwhenua awards make a significant contribution to the profile and growth of Māori agribusiness – and in turn the growth of New Zealand’s economy.

“The Government has a number of initiatives in place to help build Māori agribusiness, including the Primary Growth Partnership, Sustainable Farming Fund and a series of regional growth studies.

“I congratulate all farmers involved in this year’s competition and look forward to seeing the continued growth and success of Māori agribusiness,” says Mr Guy.

Each of the finalists announced tonight will showcase their properties at public field days in April and May, before a winner is announced in Whanganui on May 29.

For more information, visit www.ahuwhenuatrophy.maori.nz