Additional members for Digital Advisory Group

  • Hon Clare Curran
Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media Government Digital Services

The final seven members of the Digital Economy and Digital Inclusion (DEDI) Advisory Group have been announced.

Broadcasting, Communications, Digital Media and Government Digital Services Minister Clare Curran established the Group earlier this year to advise the Government on how it can build the digital economy and reduce the digital divides.

“We now have 15 people with a wide range of skills and expertise, from across a variety of sectors, on the DEDI group. They will help us ensure all New Zealanders have affordable access to digital services and the skills and desire to be fully involved in our digital world,” Clare Curran said.

“I’m committed to making sure no-one is left behind by the pace of technological change which is affecting the way we work, learn, relax and interact with each other.

“There was an overwhelming response from people with the skills, vision and enthusiasm to join the group who want to help all New Zealanders take full advantage of the opportunities provided by digital technology.

“Creating a blueprint for digital inclusion will help ensure New Zealand businesses and all Kiwis have access to connectivity, as well as the foundational skills and motivation, to thrive in their online lives.

“The 15 members have been appointed for a period of 12 months and I expect to meet with them next month to discuss the Group’s work programme for the year. There’ll also be opportunities for people with different sector-specific expertise to be part of this work and shape the way we tackle digital divides,” says Ms Curran.

The seven new members of the Digital Economy and Digital Inclusion Advisory Group are:

  • Amber Craig: Councillor at Internet NZ, Trust Chair of Whare Hauora, and Chair of Women Who Get Shit Done. Experience working in the ICT sector as a solutions architect. Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairarapa, Rangitane
  • Cathy Hardinge: Founder and CEO of Digital Seniors, and Capability and Change Consultant
  • Robyn Kamira:  Founder and CEO of UAV company Incredible Skies Ltd and technology company Paua Interface Ltd. Board member of Institute of IT Professionals and Hi-Tech Awards Judge.
  • Gregory Morgan: Head of Digital Solutions and Innovation at Auckland Libraries and member of Library and Information Association of NZ Aotearoa. Former board member and committee chair of Royal New Zealand Foundation of the Blind.
  • David Moskovitz: Serial entrepreneur, angel investor, company director, philanthropist, mentor, software developer, and lexicographer on the Dictionary of NZ Sign Language and several Māori dictionaries. Involved in interfaith community. Blogs at
  • Damon Odey: Mayor of Timaru District Council and lead Mayor for the digital connectivity work programme for the Canterbury Mayoral Forum.
  • Michael Taitoko: CEO and co-founder of Takiwā, a digital analytics and data visualisation firm.

They will join the eight members below, appointed in March 2018:

  • Frances Valintine (Chair) - Founder and Chairperson at The Mind Lab, and Founder/CEO of Tech Futures Lab
  • Potaua Biasiny-Tule - Co-Founder of Digital Natives Academy, Digital Basecamp, 4 Company B, and CEO/Managing Director of
  • Jordan Carter - Chief Executive of InternetNZ
  • Kaila Colbin - Co-founder and Chair of Ministry of Awesome, Curator of TEDxChristchurch and SingularityU NZ and Australia Summits, Deputy Chair of CORE Education, Director of ChristchurchNZ
  • Brenda Leeuwenberg - Head of Innovation at NZ On Air, Board Member of Women in Film & Television, and Director of Nomad8
  • Rohan MacMahon - Management consultant and involved in business development for digital technology companies. Previously Strategy Director at Crown Fibre Holdings
  • Victoria MacLennan - Co-chair of NZRise, Managing Director and CEO of OptimalHQ Group, Trustee and Board Chair of Code Club Aotearoa, Chair of the Digital Skills Forum, Investor and Director.
  • Chris O’Connell - Director of Heartland Connectivity Taskforce Ltd, extensively involved with broadband rollout.