2017 PM’s Education Excellence Awards open

  • Hekia Parata

Education Minister Hekia Parata is encouraging all schools, kura and early childhood education providers to enter education’s answer to the Oscars.

“The Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards are about celebrating education excellence, recognising the great work taking place in our schools, kura and ECE providers across New Zealand,” says Ms Parata.

“We’ve seen some truly inspiring entries over the past three years demonstrating the fundamental difference excellent teaching practice can make for kids. Previous entrants have said how proud these awards have made their schools and communities.”

The four main categories for the awards are:

  • Excellence in engaging
  • Excellence in leading
  • Excellence in teaching and learning
  • Excellence in governing

The winning entry in each category receives $20,000 and a professional development opportunity. Category winners are also eligible for the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award, which goes to the group that has had the most impact on raising student achievement. The winner of the Supreme Award receives an additional $30,000.

A further prize, the Education Focus Prize, is awarded each year focusing on a different part of the education system.

“I’m excited that the 2017 Education Focus Prize celebrates excellence in the design of local curriculum using digital technologies. It’s about students using digital technology in their local area in an innovative way to tackle the curriculum,” says Ms Parata.

Entries open on 17 October 2016 and close on 17 March 2017. Entry forms and more information are available here.

Finalists will be announced in May 2017 and a national awards ceremony will be held in June 2017.