2015 PM’s Education Excellence Awards launched

  • Hekia Parata

Education Minister Hekia Parata today launched the 2015 Prime Minister’s Education Excellence Awards.

Ms Parata says the awards recognise and celebrate excellence in teaching, leadership, community engagement and governance.

“The inaugural awards were held this year and were a great celebration of work being done across our education system.

“They give us an opportunity to acknowledge some remarkable people and the work being done to deliver better educational outcomes for our children and young people.

“Quality teaching and strong leadership are crucial to raising student achievement and strong involvement from parents and high community expectations also make the difference outside of schools and early childhood services.”

Ms Parata says the awards cover early childhood education, primary and secondary schooling, and communities of learning made up of all three. The awards focus on collaboration and collective effort and they are open to groups and partnerships.

The four main categories are:

  • Excellence in governing – providing vision, innovation and creativity to inspire teaching and learning that lifts achievement.
  • Excellence in leading – leading peers or colleagues to challenge and lift achievement.
  • Excellence in teaching and learning – lifting achievement, engagement, retention and attendance of young New Zealanders.
  • Excellence in engaging – working with parents and communities to transform relationships and involvement.

The winning entry of each category will receive $20,000 and professional development opportunities. Category winners will be eligible for the Prime Minister’s Supreme Award, which will go to the partnership or group that has had the most impact on raising student achievement. Winners of the Supreme Award receive an additional $30,000.

A further prize is awarded each year focusing on a different part of the education system. The 2015 Education Focus Prize will be for demonstrated collaboration that develops communities of learning from early childhood through to senior schooling.

Entries have now opened and will close on 20 March 2015. Entry forms and information are available at www.pmawards.education.govt.nz

Finalists will be announced in May 2015 and a national awards ceremony will be held in June.