Minister thanks Aranui schools for their submissions

  • Hekia Parata

Education Minister Hekia Parata has thanked the five Aranui schools for their submissions on the Education Renewal Plans in greater Christchurch which have been received by the Ministry of Education.

It is proposed the five schools, Aranui High School, Chisnallwood Intermediate, Wainoni Primary, Aranui Primary and Avondale Primary, form a year one to 13 school on a modern, new, single campus.

Due to the complexity of their proposal the schools were given an extended time frame to prepare their submissions.

"I would like to thank the Aranui school communities for participating in the consultation process. I have visited all five schools, and can assure their communities that I will be taking a very detailed interest in what they have said.

"I expect to announce interim decisions for Aranui schools in early May.”

Ms Parata announced interim decisions for 31 schools of the 38 schools affected by the Education Renewal Plans last month.

Ms Parata offered to visit the 19 schools that have interim decisions to close or merge and has spent the last three days in Christchurch talking to the Boards of Trustees and Principals of those schools that took up the opportunity.

"I know that some of these interim decisions are disappointing for communities but the face and make-up of greater Christchurch has, and will continue to change dramatically due to the earthquakes, and the education sector must respond to those changes

"The Government is investing $1 billion over ten years. This is about providing something better for the kids of Christchurch.

"We have a chance to build brighter, more modern schools in better locations, with great new facilities, and to ensure all children are getting access to good, quality education within a close distance of where they live.”

The 31 schools that have interim decisions have until March 28 2013 to provide any further feedback before final decisions are made. Final decisions may be made earlier for those schools who accept the interim decisions.