Appointments to University and Wananga councils

  • Steven Joyce
Tertiary Education

The Minister for Tertiary Education, Steven Joyce, today announced new Council members for six of New Zealand’s Universities and all three Wānanga.

The new appointments are as follows:




University of Auckland

Michael Daniell

Auckland University of Technology

Greg Campbell, Judith Thompson, and Lyn Lim

Lincoln University

Martin Clements (Re-appointment)

Massey University

Sir Ngatata Love (Re-appointment)

University of Otago

John Ward (Re-appointment)

University of Waikato

Dr Brian Linehan (Re-appointment)

Te Wānanga o Aotearoa

Dr Manuka Henare (Re-appointment), and Tania Hodges (Re-appointment)

Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiarangi

Terri Eggleton (Re-appointment), and Miles McConway

Te Wānanga o Raukawa

Michelle Hippolite, Robin Hapi (Re-appointment), andEddie Ellison


“The new appointees bring an excellent mix of skills and experience and I am confident that they will provide strong leadership for these institutions,” says Mr Joyce.

”I also want to thank those Council members whose terms have recently finished. “I appreciate the hard work and dedication of all Council members, and I would like to thank all those who have given their time to support our tertiary education system,”

The new Council members have each been appointed for a four year term.


University of Auckland Council

Michael Daniellis Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation Limited, a company he has been with for 30 years.


Auckland University of Technology Council

Greg Campbellis Marketing Director of Vodafone New Zealand.  Prior to this Mr Campbell was Managing Director of Guardian Trust and held senior management positions primarily in the area of marketing at ANZ National, and the Bank of New Zealand.


Judith Thompsonis Directorof Better by Design, the Government’s vehicle for promoting design in business. She has a background in public and private sector consulting and has held economic development roles with Industry New Zealand and New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.


Lyn Limisa founding partner of Forest Harrison, a legal firm specialising in providing services to a niche market. Ms Lim’s governance experience includes previous roles as a Council Member of the Auckland District Law Society and current positions on ASB Community Trust, New Zealand Shareholders Association and a not for profit charitable trust.


Lincoln University Council

Martin Clementsretired as President of New Zealand Fruitgrowers Federation, following over 20 years contribution to the fruit industry in the Canterbury region and nationally. Mr Clements is now involved in Steering and Advisory groups relating to Water Management in the Canterbury region and nationally, he is also a Director to Cranberries New Zealand and chair of the North Canterbury Fish and Game Council.


Massey University Council

Sir Ngatata Loveis a Professor at Victoria University and an Emeritus Professor of Massey University. He is Chairman of the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust and was previously the Chief Executive Officer of Te Puni Kōkiri. Sir Ngatata is also the Chair of several Māori organisations.


University of Otago Council

John Ward is a Fellow of both the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Institute of Directors. He has extensive business and governance experience. His commercial appointments as a Director  include SBS Bank (Deputy Chair),  H&J Smith Holdings Ltd (Chair), the Skeggs Group, Wilson Holdings Ltd, Otago Innovation Ltd and the A.J.Hackett Bungy Group.


University of Waikato Council

Dr Brian Linehan is a retired pathologist, past Chair of the New Zealand Medical Association and presently Chair of the Tranmere Group and Director of a number of other companies. He has now been a member of the Waikato University Council for two terms, and has been Pro-Chancellor for the past four years.


Te Wānanga o Aotearoa Council

Dr Manuka Henare works at the University of Auckland Business School as Associate Dean Māori and Pacific Development. Dr Henare is a board member of the Environmental Risk Management Authority (ERMA) and currently sits on the Manukau Insitute of Technology (MIT) Council.

Tania Hodges (Ngāti Kahungunu, Ngāti Ranginui, Ngāti Haua and Ngāti Tūwharetoa)is a specialist Consultant, Manager and Director with extensive experience in funding, contracting, strategy, change management, Māori/Iwi relationships, leadership, workforce and community development. Tania is the Managing Director of Digital Limited, Co-Chair of the Waikato Whanau Ora Regional Leadership Group and a Trustee of the Ngati Pahauwera Development and Tiaki Trust.


Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiarangi Council

Terri Eggleton is a Chartered Accountant currently working in the community development field. She is a Trustee of Community Hospice Service Eastern Bay of Plenty and is a former trustee of BayTrust and Allandale School Board of Trustees.


Miles McConway is Group Manager Technology & Economic Development at Bay of Plenty Regional Council as well as being a member of the senior management team. Miles was previously Group Manager HR and Corporate Services at the Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Executive Officer of BayBroadband Ltd, founding Executive Officer of Bay of Plenty Local Authorities Shared Services Ltd and was also the Acting Chief Executive of Opotiki District Council earlier this year.


Te Wānanga o Raukawa Council

Michelle Hippolite (Ngāti Pou, Rongowhakaata, Te Whanau a Kai) is the Kaihautū of the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa.  Michelle shares the strategic leadership of Te Papa with the Chief Executive.  Prior to taking on this position, Ms Hippolite held a number of senior roles in public policy and public sector management.

Robin Hapi is the former CEO and current Chairman of Aotearoa Fisheries Ltd. He is the Chairman of the Board of Sealord and also the independent Chair of BERL. He is a member of the Seafood Industry Training Organisationand a current member of the Tertiary Education Commission. He was also recently appointed as an Adjunct Professor at Massey University.

Eddie Ellison has operated his own financial services business for the past 15 years. Mr Ellison has held a range of senior management, financial and accounting positions within the public and private sector, including being National Kōhanga Reo National Trust Finance Manager, Deputy Director of Finance at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade and an Accountant at the Ministry of Māori Affairs.